Our School




Cape Breton Highlands Education Centre/Academy was opened in 2000 bringing together Strait Regional School Board students from L'école NDA, Northeast Margaree Elementary School, Pleasant Bay School and Margaree Forks District High School. The school is located in Terre Noire, Nova Scotia, on the beautiful Cabot Trail.  The students attending CBHEC/A travel from many different areas to attend the school - they come from communities as far away as Pleasant Bay, from Acadian communities such as Cap-le-Moine, Saint-Joseph-du-Moine, Grand-Étang, Point Cross, Chéticamp and Petit-Étang, and from all the different Margaree areas. CBHEC/A has a very diverse population! 



French Immersion P-12

Options and Opportunities (O2) (French and English)

English Programming P-12 (Community College and University Prep)

Cooperative Education programs in French and English, Grades 11-12

Play-based P-2 Programming



Peter Goosens (peter.goosens@srsb.ca)


Angela MacKinnon-Poirier (angela.mackinnon@srsb.ca)

Youth Pathways Team:

Stacia Evans (stacia.evans@srsb.ca)

James Parsons (james.parsons@srsb.ca)

Lisa MacKinnon (lisa.mackinnon@srsb.ca)

Student Services:

Jason Deveaux (jason.deveaux@srsb.ca)

Carolyn MacDonald (carolyna.macdonald@srsb.ca)

Angela MacKinnon-Poirier (angela.mackinnon@srsb.ca), Chair

Mary Lou McKenzie (marylou.mckenzie@srsb.ca)

Comprehensive Guidance:

John MacKinnon (john.mackinnon@srsb.ca)

Early Literacy Intervention:

Myra Muise (myra.muise@srsb.ca):

Mathematics Intervention:

Ethna Gillis, English (ethna.gillis@srsb.ca)

Myra Muise, French Immersion (myra.muise@srsb.ca)

School Secretary:

Wilfridine Crowdis (wilfridine.crowdis@srsb.ca)

Maintenance Staff:

Aubrey Cranton (Building Operator) (aubrey.cranton@srsb.ca)

Ronnie Fraser (Janitor) (ronnie.fraser@srsb.ca)

Waylon Fraser (Janitor) (waylon.fraser@srsb.ca)

Lindsey Hart (Janitor) (lindsey.hart@srsb.ca)

Priscilla LeBlanc (Janitor) (priscilla.leblanc@srsb.ca)

Heather LeBlanc (Cleaner) (heather.leblanc@srsb.ca)

Nicole Stewart (Cleaner) (nicole.stewart@srsb.ca)

Bus Drivers:

Rita Arsenault (rita. arsenault@srsb.ca)

John Carmichael (john.carmischael@srsb.ca)

Ronnie Fraser (ronnie.fraser@srsb.ca)

Waylon Fraser (waylon.fraser@srsb.ca)

Lindsey Hart (lindsey.hart@srsb.ca)

Fletcher Ingraham (fletcher.ingraham@srsb.ca)

Jody IngrahamPhillips (jody.phillips@srsb.ca)

Brenda Timmons (brenda.timmons@srsb.ca)

Teaching Assignments:

Christina Aucoin-Cavanaugh (Français-immersion Grade PR) (christina.cavanaugh@srsb.ca)

Megan Blanchard (Till February 16, Sciences humaines 7-8, Mathématiques 9, Sciences 9, Mathématiques 6, ICT 6, Sciences humaines 6, Sciences 6, Arts visuels 6, Santé 6)

Lawrence Cameron (Music P-6, 10-12, Exploring Music 7-9) (lawrence.cameron@srsb.ca)

Andrew Clarey (Seconded to Nova Scotia Virtual School, Pre-calculus 12, Calculus 12) (andrew.clarey@srsb.ca)

Denis Cormier (Français-immersion 4-5) (denis.cormier@srsb.ca)

Ashley Crowley (English Programming Grades Primary, 2, 3, 4) (ashley.crowley@srsb.ca)

Jason Deveaux (Français-immersion 6, 7) (jason.deveaux@srsb.ca)

Anna DeWolfe (Core French 4-9, Sciences humaines 9, Histoire du Canada 11, Géographie planétaire 12) (anna.dewolfe@srsb.ca)

Stacia Evans (Career Development 10-11, Community Based Learning 10, Business Technology 11, Food Technology 10, Food Service/Preparation 10, Math Essentials 11, Math at Work 11,  Co-operative Education 11-12) (stacia.evans@srsb.ca)

Ethna Gillis (Mathematics 2, 4) (ethna.gillis@srsb.ca)

Peter Goosens (Mathematics 11) (peter.goosens@srsb.ca)

Daniel LeBlanc (Mathematics 7, 8, 9, 10, Mathematics 12, (Advanced) Physics 11) (daniel.leblanc@srsb.ca)

Aurel LeLièvre (Physical Education 8, 9, 10, 11, Mode de vie actif 11, Physical Education Leadership 12, Éducation physique 3-9) (aurel.lelievre@srsb.ca

Pauline LeLièvre (Physical Education PR-7, Mathematics 5) (pauline.lelievre@srsb.ca)

Barbara MacKinnon (English programming Grade 6) (barbara.mackinnon@srsb.ca)

Charlene MacKinnon (Français-immersion Grade 1) (charlene.mackinnon@srsb.ca)

John MacKinnon (Visual Arts 10, English 9) (john.mackinnon@srsb.ca)

Lisa MacKinnon (Français-immersion 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, Entrepreneuriat 12, Orientation professionnelle 10, Éducation co-opérative 11, 12, Healthy Living 8, 9) (lisa.mackinnon@srsb.ca)

Angela MacKinnon-Poirier (Mathematics at Work 10, 12; Math Essentials 10, 12) (angela.mackinnon@srsb.ca)

Andrew MacLean (English 6, Social Studies 7-9, English Communications 11-12, Canadian History 11) (andrew.maclean@srsb.ca)

Rochelle MacQuarrie (English 4-5, Visual Arts 4-5, Sciences 4-5, ICT 4-5, Health 4-5) (rochelle.macquarrie@srsb.ca)

Sarah McDaniel (Mathématiques 9, Canadian Families 12, Mathématiques 6, Sciences 6, Sciences humaines 6, ICT 6, Santé 6, Arts visuels 6) (sarah.mcdaniel@srsb.ca)

Bruce Miller (English 10, English 12, Science 7, 10, Oceans 11, Global Geography 12, English 9 (Sem 1 only) (bruce.miller@srsb.ca)

Marilyn Murphy (English Programming Grades P-1) (marilyn.murphy@srsb.ca)

James Parsons (Science 8-9, Production Technology 11, Construction Technology 10, Workplace Health/Safety 11, Chemistry 11-12, Biology 12) (james.parsons@srsb.ca)

Matthew Parsons (Art dramatique 10, Biology 11, Mathématiques 7-8, Sciences 7-8, Sciences 9 (Sem 2 only), Sciences 10, Sciences humaines 7-8 (Sem 2 only)

Kristen Ross (English 7-11, Health Living 7) (kristen.ross@srsb.ca)

Laura Ryan (Français-immersion 2-3) (laura.ryan@srsb.ca)

Angela Stepaniak (English Progamming Grades 2-3) (angela.stepaniak@srsb.ca)


Rylan Clark, Treasure

Michael Cormier, President

Sydney-Mae Courtemanche, President

Iain Gillis, Vice-president

Campbell Hart, Vice-president

Hayley MacDonald, Secretary

Kenzie MacKinnon, Secretary

Stacia Evans, Staff Advisor

Carolyn A MacDonald, Staff Advisor


Jessie Daley, Student

Sheila Deveau, Parent

Noah Doucette, Student

Angela MacKinnon-Poirier, Teacher

Charlene Murphy, Parent, Secretary

Kristen Ross, Teacher, Chair

TBD, Support Staff

TBD, Community Representative




Nadine Clark

Anna DeWolfe

Sheila Deveau

Charlene Murphy, Secretary (murphy.cormier@gmail.com

Alex Poirier

Brenda Poirier

Kristen Ross, Chair (kristen.ross@srsb.ca)


Michel Chiasson, Chair (drchiasson@hotmail.com)

Shelley Ross, Secretary

Lucille Cormier, Treasurer

School Policies

Computer use


Privacy Policy

Smoking Policy

Board Policy Manual